Programming systems for kids

I am starting to think about programming systems for kids. My son is 4 years old now. He likes to play with the computer, just like his dad. He also started to like the text editors I used when writing programs, specially because the colour of the words change depending on the combination of keys he presses. He is learning to read and write and I guess that he will be soon ready to start learning something more serious than playing Tux Racer. This brings me to the topic of this post, I recently read an article in the O’Reilly Radar about programming systems for kids. The comments for that post are including some good references, I will start checking in the near future. However, I would like to get other opinions. So, do you now of any programming system for kids that you would recommend? If so, please, tell me in the comments.

Cheers,

Lino

Explore posts in the same categories: Education, Free and Open Source Software, Personal

One Comment on “Programming systems for kids”


  1. Logo comes to mind, and I also heard about Scratch – http://scratch.mit.edu/ .

    I also remember when I bought Robot Odyssey for the CoCo, although I guess I was already too old and it got boring fast 🙂 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robot_Odyssey


Comments are closed.


