Back from the IV World Forum on Free Knowledge

Yesterday, I got back from the IV World Forum on Free Knowledge. It was an amazing experience. I had a good time even though I was part of the organizing committee 😉

 

People were really interested in the democratization of knowledge. Besides my participation as an organizer, I gave a talk on Free Science: Utopia or Reality?, I gave a tutorial on Image Analysis and I chaired a Panel Discussion Session on Intelectual Property in the XXI Century. Some time in the next couple of weeks, I will comment on my experience in the Forum. For now, I just want to comment that Perl was well represented in the Forum with three out of the seven tutorials that were offered “free of charge” having something to do with Perl. The three tutorials were:

  • Introduction to Perl with Randal Schwartz
  • Image Analysis with Lino Ramirez, and
  • GUI Development with Perl with Alejandro Garrido

Peace!

Lino

Explore posts in the same categories: Free and Open Source Software, knowledge, Open Access, Open Science, Perl, Venezuela

