Wikipedia on CD: a project for the Venezuelan Schools

Recently, I had an e-mail conversation with the Responsible of Networks and Telecommunications at the Ministry of Education in Venezuela. I asked him about what project he thought we, the group of SOLVE’s Education Project, could help with. He told me that one of the projects he is interested in is having the Wikipedia on CD so they could distribute it to all the Schools in Venezuela. I thought it was a great idea, and I started looking for information and related projects.

So far, I have located an English version of the Wikipedia on CD at SOS Children’s Village. There is also a German version of it at The German Wikipedia. I also found a group in Argentina that is working on a similar project. I already contacted them.

If everything goes well in a couple of weeks, we should start this new project with SOLVE: to have the Spanish version of the Wikipedia on a CD to distribute in the Venezuelan schools.

If you are interested in collaborating, please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Lino

For more information, see also

Explore posts in the same categories: Education, Free and Open Source Software, knowledge, Open Access, Software, Venezuela