Open Office Calc

One of the ways to promote Free Knowledge and Open Science is to start using Free and Open Source Tools. One of such tools is Open Office Calc. Calc is the Free and Open Source alternative to MS Excel. Because one of the goals of this Blog is to promote Free Knowledge and Open Science, I will dedicate the next few post to provide a crash course on Open Office Calc.

The outline of what we are going to cover is:

  1. Introduction to Open Office Calc
  2. Designing Spreadsheets
  3. Selecting Graphics and Charts
  4. Constructing Correct Formulas and Using Functions
  5. Printing

Later on, we may decide to provide an advanced course in Calc.

Talk to you soon!

Lino

Explore posts in the same categories: Free and Open Source Software, knowledge, Productivity/Tools, Software

2 Comments on “Open Office Calc”


  1. I believe in the Open Office software so strongly that I have decided to teach it along side their Microsoft counterparts. This will give my students a chance to learn Microsoftt applications, which are used widly in the professional world, while also introducing them to
    open source software. Most of my students are low income earners, who can not afford the
    redicules prices Microsoft charges for their Office Suite. Open Office provides them an exceptional alternative.

  2. Lino Ramirez Says:

    Hi Eric,

    I completely agree with you. In fact, I teach my students as much as I can of OpenOffice. It would be great if you can share your experiences in the teaching process: what features of OpenOffice your students like the most, what were the most difficult features to learn, what was their general impression about OpenOffice, etc.

    I am looking forward to your comments,

    Take care!

    Lino


Comments are closed.


